The Need for Cognitive Closure in Artworks -Blog 2

Process documentation

During my experimentation, I decided to document what was happening in my life.

Experimentations

Photograms and negatives.

In this method, I incorporated a camera-less technique called photogram to my negative, which was the projection by the enlarger onto my light-sensitive paper. A photogram is a light sensitive process, playing with exposures. To create a photogram, one needs to collect opaque objects and place them on light-sensitive photo paper in a dark room and then expose it to light. The light- sensitive photograph is then placed into the developer. The materials used to create this, were sugar and flour.

I first tried it with sugar. As sugar is quite translucent, light went through the paper, creating a blurred image effect to the parts where the sugar had contact with the paper.


I then tried the same technique with flour. Since flour is completely opaque, where the flour was placed, no light hit the paper, thus resulting in a complete white area.

007.jpg
After trying out the two above techniques, I then decided to combine them, which resulted in a shading effect incorporating blank, blurred and clear sections.

All these experiments worked well masking certain parts, resulting in blank spaces for the brain to fill in.

Chemicals

The next process was to experiment with chemicals, such as house detergents. This did not work out, as I did not like the aesthetic.

After experimenting, I felt that the sugar and the flour technique gave the best results and would be a good technique to use in my final work. During my experimentation phase, during a live class, I took an image of a model posing. By hiding half the figure, the image seemed to intrigue people, and they were curious to find out what the missing part looked like. The human body is something people can relate to. By creating blank spaces, one urges people to fill in the missing spaces due to curiosity.

Leave a Reply

